Book 4 – Dang it feels good to be back!

back meme

 

Damn it’s good to be back! I missed these characters sooo much!! The moment when you get back to a series you thought was over and decided that there was more to say, is a great feeling!! I’m sorry I don’t write very fast, but I promise to get this book out to you all as soon as I can!! Until then, I hope you enjoy the preface to book 4 of “The Haunting of Secrets” series!! Not sure even of a title yet, that always is the hardest for me. I would love to know what you think!!

Thank you all for coming with me on the amazing journey!! I wouldn’t be here without you. HUGS and LOVE to you all!! And I hope your secrets are safe. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Book 4 – The Haunting of Secrets  – Anyone want to help with a title?? Would appreciate it!!

Preface

September, 2006

University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC.

I never really thought about how it all would end. Who does at the ripe old age of sixteen? But I never would have guessed that the flames haunting my dreams since I was a child would be the instrument of my demise. Those yellow handss, reaching out for me, curled and sinister like the very hands of the devil himself, wrapping his flaming arms around me until I can’t breathe a single breath without it searing my soul in agony.

I had no idea that a secret, no matter how well guarded, could come back to haunt me. I loved him more than life itself. I would have died for him if he had only asked. But he didn’t. His secret was much darker and more sinister than I ever could have imagined. You see, I always believed that those who love you the most would help you through any pain that life creates; any obstacle that it throws in front of you. I truly believed that love could conquer any evil that life could conjure.

But I was dead wrong.

The life I thought I shared with him left the moment his knife touched my sister’s throat. I watched as he sliced through her neck like it was butter. He slid the knife effortlessly across her body, his eyes sad, yet determined, as he watched the life leave her eyes. It’s like he craved her death, waited in anticipation for what was to come. The boy I knew and loved didn’t exist in that moment. The only person left was a monster.

A monster that killed my sister.

I ran as fast as I could back to my dorm, one thought dominating my mind the entire time–I must not let the devil take me too. I could see the raw power emanating from him, feel the energy as he absorbed my sister’s soul. But I didn’t understand it. My heart, once whole, broke into pieces in that instant. I ran, not only from a monster, but towards salvation.

I ran to the only place that I knew I could be safe.

I made it back to my dorm room across the quad in record time, my broken heart working overtime to seal its fate. I didn’t bother to look behind me, I knew the devil was on my heals. I could hear screaming my name. I made it to my dorm room just as he was climbing the last staircase to the third floor. I slammed the door and locked it quickly, hoping it was enough to keep the devil out. I didn’t hesitate, not even for a second, because even a second lost, was a second I was in agony. I ran to the top door of my dresser and opened it. The lighter I used to light my scented candles still sat right on top. I grabbed it quickly and rubbed it between my fingers, the soft feel of the plastic comforting me, letting me know this was the only course of action. I quickly grab my hairspray and begin spraying it all over my body, careful not to miss an inch.

The banging on the door startled me, but I don’t stop. Death is calling me.

It isn’t that I want to die, far from it. But I can’t let the devil take me. He seduced me, got me to fall in love with him, and then he kills my sister right in front of me. I can’t let him win.

I finished dousing my body with hairspray and lit the lighter. I watched as the flames danced in front of my eyes, just as he broke through the door to my room. I looked up and saw his blue eyes filled with tears.

My heart hardened. “Go to hell, Ethan, where you belong,” I said a split second before I threw the lighter at my feet and felt the hot searing pain of fire as the flames lick their way up my body.

I smiled. Not because I liked it, but because I was free. The devil wont’ take us both tonight dear sister.

Your secrets are safe with me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

